Posted in Field Hockey, Fitness, Hockey, sport

Get on your feet… get moving!

So the hockey season is nearly upon us and a number of you may be thinking about moving from the couch to start some exercise. Especially those of you that may be aiming for a higher team, or have just been promoted, or you’re a team battling for promotion this season. A strong fitness base for the season can ensure you and your team last the distance together.

My Facebook feed this morning was filled with friends running the ‘Race for Life’ or the ‘British 10K’ and it inspired me to want to get up and exercise. I remember the time when I used to think about exercise a lot, however the execution never matched my enthusiasm. I would make far too many excuses.

  • I don’t have any time,
  • I don’t feel great today
  • I don’t know what to do!

I am no expert, you understand, but here are a few things I found to get me motivated.

*Treat yourself to some funky sports gear that you have always wanted.*

Pick the clothes that will make YOU feel great. Pick some clothes that YOU will want to put on in the morning. afternoon or evening. This way you’ll want to wear them all the time. As soon as you wear your new funky sports clothes, there’s no excuse. This literally is the hardest part. Getting those clothes on puts you in a mindset, no excuses. Then challenge yourself to get them sweaty. Even a walk in the park is a start. The greatest journeys start with a single step.

Some people think clothes shouldn’t stop you exercising. I think, wearing the right gear is the first step. Puts your mind in the right place, to start thinking about exercise. Once you start thinking about exercise, you can move on to starting to do some exercise.

Get new equipment, a new stick or new shoes for example and hopefully you’ll want to go try them out as soon as possible, encouraging you to play the game you love, whether that’s hockey or any other sport.

*Get an app, or a Fitbit©, pedometer, or heart rate monitor.*

This way you’ll see the progress you are making and you can see how well you are doing. Counting calories, or steps, or training to your maximum heart rate are all good ways to measure your progress and keep your motivation going.

Pick a friend and share your progress with them. Keep them motivated, whilst they encourage you. I found this was a great way to exercise on the days I really didn’t want to.

*Get a good playlist.*

Music can really motivate you to move. Pick a beat you love, and go with it. There is nothing better than losing yourself in a world of your favourite tunes whilst jogging in the park, or bashing out some burpees!

Now – you’re ready to go… so…. What are you waiting for??

You could always come to one of my sessions:

Monday 8pm – 9pm
Martins Wood School, Stevenage
£2

Wednesdays – 7.30pm – 8.30pm
St Ives Outdoor Centre, St Ives
£3

I’ll be posting regular fitness updates on the blog, so stay in touch!

Leave a Reply

