Posted in Field Hockey, FRE Flyers, Hockey, Inclusive sport, sport

The Tale of Two Jordan’s…..

So far we’ve spoken to Chris Grant about the Origins and Chapter One, ‘Mama Jo’ Melchior, the all important cog in the wheel that keeps turning, now it’s the turn of some of the FRE Flyers themselves. Meet the two Jordan’s, who tell their tale of life on the Olympic Park. 

Tell me a bit about yourself?  My name is  Jordan, I’m 17 years old. I was  born and raised in Stratford, upbringing was really good and have a supportive family.

How did you get involved with the FRE Flyers?  I used to play some sports such as football and basketball. I heard about FRE Flyers by a close and personal worker from community links who told me try out hockey, as the new sport was growing, and I have now been with the club for 5 years. I believe it was a great thing to do.

Tell me what FRE Flyers means to you? Friendship is very important. Respect is important towards the coaches and players. Excellence is also important to always try your best and leave 100% on the pitch. 

The best thing about the FRE Flyers is how everyone is close and we are like a family which is a great thing. It helps me with training & gaining experience from matches and also experience training with GB players.

Do you play for another club? Yeah, I play for East London.

How did you get to play for that club?
 One of the FRE Flyers coaches recommended to join them and I believe it was a great thing for me to do.


Do you play any other sport?
Yes, I play football sometimes and tennis. 


Why do you think sport is important?
Sport is important because it develops your skill, helps you gain confidence in the sport and in yourself. Also sport is important because it keeps you fit.

What would you be doing now if you didn’t have the FRE Flyers? I believe I would be playing a different sport instead of hockey, most likely football.


What would you like to do in the future?
I would like to be a professional hockey player and also a fitness instructor by not only keeping myself fit but by helping others. 

Do you have anything you would like to do whilst at the Flyers? I would like to do some coaching to help develop my coaching skills.

What are you most looking forward to with the FRE Flyers?
Helping younger players by giving them advice and helping them settle in. Another thing I’m also looking forward to is going to Holland again and beating the Dutch players. I’ve always dreamed of doing it as we lost last time and because everyone’s skill has developed I believe we can win. 

Tell me why you think other people should join in with the FRE Flyers? I believe others should join in with the FRE Flyers to keep fit, meet new people and have the experience to try a new sport.

What is the one thing you would wish for the FRE Flyers? One thing I would wish for the FRE Flyers is to try and bring more players in.


 What is your name? Jordan

How old are you? 18 years old

Tell me a little bit about your background? I have a disability called Autism but this does not disable me.

What did you do before the FRE Flyers?Before I did FRE Flyers I have been involved with athletics and also swimming. I enjoy a challenge and love all sports.

When and how did you get involved in the FRE Flyers? There was this person that introduced me to FRE Flyers which was Paula Blake and also a guy called Jason because they saw potential in me to be part of the FRE Flyers team. When I got to know about FRE Flyers I started to go to hockey training sessions every Friday. From there as soon as my training was developing I was then completing in a premier league against teams in Tower Hamlets that’s how it all happened.

Tell me what FRE Flyers means to you. FRE Flyers are inspiring and enthusiastic. With FRE Flyers you get to make new friends, participate in a lot of opportunities like trips, competitions and activities etc. also, hockey is very physical and keeps you fit, it is also lots of fun. 

How does the FRE Flyers help you? FRE Flyers have driven me to be a better person. From over the past years to now I have progressed very well whilst training with the FRE Flyers, my skills, speed, ability, strength and endurance has enhanced my hockey techniques all thanks to my team and coaches.

Do you play for another club? No! I don’t represent any other club only FRE Flyers.

Do you play any other sport? Yes! Athletics. It’s good to have more than one sport because it helps with your endurance and pace and helps me to maintain my stamina and strength when the game is very physical and fast paced.

Why do you think sport is important? Sport is about having the determination and love in everything you do in that sport. When you begin to learn about hockey as a sport it is not easy to take in and work out, but taking time and learning the ropes, this will help you to achieve your goals, remember practice is key to making everything perfect. It’s important that as a FRE Flyers team that we continue to achieve our goals and show other teams what we are made of and how we have heart, spirit, determination and drive to be the best.

What would you be doing now if you didn’t have the FRE Flyers? I have other activities that I am involved in apart from hockey but I would be very sad because I enjoy it so much.

What would you like to do in the future? I would maybe like to join the England hockey team and become an Olympian at some stage that would be my dream.

What are you most looking forward to with the FRE Flyers? Having a bright future and successful life progressing and carry on learning about this great sport.

Tell me why you think other people should join in with the FRE Flyers? From my experience it gives you new opportunities and skills that are fun and also improves your fitness and it is very competitive.  

What is the one thing you would wish for the FRE Flyers? That they continue to do the best they can and never give up.

Tomorrow we will catch up with two of the current quarter of coaches.

For more information about the FRE Flyers: 

Website : http://www.freflyers.co.uk/
Twitter: @FREFlyers 
Facebook: FRE Flyers Club

Virgin Money GivingFRE Flyers Fundraising

 

Leave a Reply

